Australian Consulate-General
Makassar, Indonesia



Latest advice

For Australians travelling in or to Indonesia

For Australians travelling in Indonesia or planning to travel to Indonesia, please read the Australian Government’s latest travel advice for Indonesia on Smartraveller.


For travelling to Australia

Australia’s borders are currently closed and entry to Australia remains strictly controlled to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. Travel to Australia is only available if you are exempt or you have been granted an individual exemption.

Travel restrictions are subject to change in response to the circumstances surrounding COVID-19. You can stay informed with the latest updates by checking the Department of Home Affairs advice on Travel Restrictions regularly. 


For Australians returning to Australia

Returning to Australia from overseas is still challenging. There are caps on the numbers of passengers coming into Australian airports from overseas.  If you're overseas and wish to come home, be prepared for delays and disruptions to your travel. For more details please read the Smartraveller advice on trying to get home.

If you're an Australian currently in Indonesia and have been trying to return home but haven't been able to, please register with DFAT.  Further information on registering is available on Smartraveller.


Consular, passport and notarial services

The Consulate-General remains open Mon-Fri for normal business hours (8.30am – 4.30pm). Consular and passport services continue to be provided by appointment. As a precaution for the safety of our staff and visitors, we are providing notarial services only where there is an urgent need. There are additional security screening requirements if you are required to attend the Consulate-General. Please email [email protected] or call 04113664100 to make an appointment. If the Consulate-General is closed, please contact our Consular Emergency Centre: +61 2 6261 3305 if you have an urgent request.






The Consulate-General does not process or advise on visa, migration or citizenship applications. Click here for more information on visas and migration.







Message from Consul-General Ms Bronwyn Robbins

Strengthening Australia’s relations with eastern Indonesia

Welcome to the website of the Australian Consulate-General in Makassar, South Sulawesi.

The Australian Consulate-General in Makassar promotes business, education, people-to-people and cultural links between Australia and eleven provinces in eastern Indonesia: East Kalimantan, South Kalimantan, South Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, West Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, Gorontalo, North Sulawesi, Maluku, North Maluku and West Papua province. The Consulate-General also provides consular and passport services to Australian citizens in these provinces.[1]

Eastern Indonesia is a vast area of over 11,000 islands and more than 51 million people who have a diverse and deep cultural and linguistic heritage. It is an area rich in mineral and natural resources, has extensive mountain, coastal and island zones of great natural beauty, and seas rich in fish and other marine resources.

Australia has a long history of trade and contact with the peoples of eastern Indonesia. For example, since at least the 1700s, Makassan traders sought sea-cucumber (trepang) and other resources from northern Australia for on-sale to merchants from imperial China. Strong relationships were built between the Makassans and the indigenous people of northern Australia. Today, our trading and business links with the eastern provinces of Indonesia are growing fast as the east opens up and new ports, bridges, airports, and industries are built. Tourism, education and agriculture are key areas of growth where Australian businesses, institutions, experts and social enterprises play an important role. Our mining and mining service companies have long been well established in the eastern islands, and will continue to be important contributors to economic growth in the region.

The Consulate-General in Makassar develops and maintains a wide range of networks across all our eleven provinces, drawing on the skills, knowledge and experiences of people from both our countries. We see great potential for building stronger trade and investment links in agriculture, mining services, sustainable tourism and new technologies; strengthening connections between schools and educational institutions in Australia and eastern Indonesia; building connections with our growing alumni groups; and strengthening links between regional governments in eastern Indonesia and regional Australia.

To keep up to date with our activities in building stronger relationships between Australia and the provinces of eastern Indonesia, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram: @KonJenMakassar and you can reach us by email at [email protected].

[1] Note that the Australian Consulate-General in Bali covers the provinces of Bali, West Nusa Tenggara and East Nusa Tenggara. The Australian Consulate-General in Surabaya covers the provinces of East Java and Central Java. The Australian Embassy in Jakarta covers the province of Papua in eastern Indonesia; and all other provinces in central and west Indonesia not covered by the Consulates-General.


Contacting the Australian Consulate-General Makassar in an emergency

FOR EMERGENCIES ONLY, Australian citizens requiring urgent assistance should:

  • call (+62 411) 366 4100 and follow the instructions
  • for after-hours emergency assistance call the Consular Emergency Centre in Canberra directly on (+61 2) 6261 3305
  • non urgent enquiries can be made by email to [email protected].
Studying in Australia

Australia’s world class universities, vocational programs, schools, scholarships and pathways to study

Australian Trade Commission

Doing business with Australia